The Saline County Treasurer's Office keeps financial records as required by Kansas Statutes. These records are available for reports and information needed by the public or other offices of the County. It is the
responsibility of this office to receive, record and disburse taxes and other revenues due to Saline County and other taxing entities within the county. The Treasurer's Office also monitors all investments of funds for the
Tax statements are mailed in November of each year for the current year. Payment stubs for both the December and May payments are on the statement mailed in November. Second half tax statements are not mailed. Please sign up
for an email reminder to notify you of the tax payment due dates. Tax due dates are December 20 for first half tax and May 10 of the following year for second half tax.
It is a pleasure to serve you as the Saline County Treasurer. If you have any suggestions or comments, please do not hesitate to contact me at email@example.com
Kansas County Treasurers Association (KCTA)
Kansas State Treasurer's Office
Wed, Nov 15, 2023
"Paying property taxes on time is not only a civic responsibility but also a critical support for our community," said Jim DuBois, Saline County Treasurer. "The funds collected maintain the quality and availability of essential services across Saline County. We are committed to assisting our residents in meeting their tax obligations and urge everyone to adhere to these deadlines."
Tue, Dec 19, 2023
Wed, Nov 22, 2023
The Treasurers Office offers a monthly payment program. There is a one time $10 set up charge and each transaction will cost $1.00 each in addition to your monthly payment. The most common practice for this program is to make future payments prior to the new tax year posting. If your first half tax is not paid by December 20 you will be assessed a penality. Statements that are not fully paid by August 2 will be assessed an additional $16 publication fee and will be published in the Salina Journal (K.S.A. 79-2004)
Anybody who fails to pay their first half property tax by December 20th will be subject to penality and interest under K.S.A. 79-2004a. The property owner will also be responsible for the payment of the whole tax.
Under K.S.A. 79-309 any person(s) who had owned the personal property as of January 1 during the current tax year is responsible for that years whole tax. If the property was sold prior to the new tax year, it is the owners responsibilty to inform the County Appraisers Office so the property could be removed before the upcoming tax year.
No, all vehicle transactions can be done at the tag office which is located in room 210 at the City-County Building or at 2310 Planet Ave.
Unclaimed property consists of many types of intangible personal property held by the State that has been unclaimed by its rightful owner. Common types of unclaimed property include:
All businesses, as well as State and local governments, who have held properties for a specified time and were not able to locate the rightful owner, notify the State of unclaimed property.
Once unclaimed property is turned over to the State the State serves as a permanent custodian of the property until the rightful owner is found. All money is held in the State general fund for the benefit of all citizens of Kansas.
The State Treasurer is committed to actively seeking the rightful owners of unclaimed property by public notice and special events, such as television telethons.
No fees are assessed to reclaim unclaimed property. If the State is holding your property, you do not have to pay a fee or service charge to reclaim it. If you are contacted by any individual or firm offering to return unclaimed property to you for a fee, be aware that you can claim the property yourself directly from the State Treasurer at no charge to anyone.
You may research unclaimed property for yourself or a family member by doing one of the following:
The Treasurer's Office accepts Cash, Checks, Money Orders, and Credit Cards. Since our credit card system goes through the State of Kansas (Kanpay System) there is a 2.5% additional charge for all credit and debit cards.
Tax statements are mailed during the month of November for the current year. The first half payment is due by December 20th and the second half payment is due by May 10th of the following year.
There are several methods available for paying your taxes. Please note www.kansas.gov/propertytax will not allow you to make any payments past December 20th or May 10th. Please contact our office for further assistance.
Pay online using electronic check, debit or credit cards. The tax statement number and taxpayer id number are required to pay online. This information is on the top left corner of your tax statement. Go to the following website to access the State of Kanas tax payment site to pay your taxes online www.kanshttps://as.gov/propertytax
Mail in a check or money order with the appropriate remittance stub from your tax statement. There is a return envelope included with your tax statement. To have a receipt mailed back, please check the appropriate box on the remittance stub.
Hand deliver check, money order or cash to our office at 300 W. Ash, Room 214, Salina, KS. Please bring the appropriate remittance stub from your tax statement with you to the office.
Use a debit or credit card. There are additional fees for using a debit or credit card. The fee is charged by the credit card vendor and is added to the total of your tax transactions. VISA, Mastercard, American Express and Discover cards are accepted. Please bring the appropriate remittance stub with you to the office.
If you have any questions, please call our office at 785-309-5860 or email the Treasurer, Jim Dubois, from our Contact Us page.
300 W. Ash, Room 214
Salina, KS 67401
Hours: 8 AM - 5 PM Monday - Friday
Closed Weekends & Holidays